Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

ENG - Engin Limited

I have for a long time been favourable about ENGIN, however things are starting to smell a little

these are my observations, so please make your own decision about the stock

i am not saying that the stock market will not do some crazy things to the price, like it did to OneTel, but I am saying the underlying value of the company is not that solid (like OneTel).

A Few Observations

Subscriber Numbers (paying) - taken from releases
-39000 at 30 June 2006
-43000 at 25 July 2006
-46000 at 29 September 2006
this means that in the 66 days from 25th July 2006 til 29th September 2006 there was 3000 lines added (only). ie 45 lines per day, ie 1363 per month!!! This is a very significantly less amount than the 4000 - 5000 per month


** comment - I rang Paul Jeronimo to ask if these figures for the 29th of Sep were correct, he confirmed that they were correct, and explained the problem was a "seasonal" problem, and that with further marketing spend the numbers would pick up again. Note also, that the market release dated 17 October 2006 quotes subscriber numbers as 43000 at the end of July 2006. ie, the company at the time of the release of this statement just used old subscrber number fiugures and not the most recent.... it seems that the company may have thought that the current subscriber numbers may not be flattering.... Note also, the company quotes in the 17 Oct release that the number of minutes per month is currently 15m per month (when the July figure was 13m per month)... ie they quote old subscriber numbers and new minutes per month. Please ring Mr Jeronimo and discuss with him



Performance Targets for 2006

from announcement 29 sep 2006

"Performance related bonuses
• Subscriber base – measured on subscriber numbers
• Reliability of network – measured on network uptime
• Customer service measures – measured on customer surveys and call centre statistics
• Employee satisfaction – measured by staff turnover rates and staff feedback
• Cashflow management to targets
• Successful capital raising
• EBITDA monthly breakeven point by 30 June 2006
• Subscriber base of 30,000 subscriber lines by 30 June 2006"

Performance Guides for 2007

"The criteria set for the upcoming financial year to 30 June 2007 are summarised as follows:
• EBITDA target
• Subscriber base in excess of 100,000 subscriber lines by 30 June 2007
• Reliability of network – measured on network uptime
• Customer service measures – measured on customer surveys and call centre statistics
• Employee satisfaction – measured by staff turnover rates and staff feedback


** comment - note the performance goal for 2006 for EBITDA breakeven was not achieved, note the EBITDA breakeven is not a goal for 2007 (just EBITDA "target"). I spoke to Mr Jeronimo about this statement. He said that with all the upgrades and future marketing spend that the company will be spending he does not see EBITDA break even this financial year. I asked him when he sees EBITDA breakeven, and he said that would be yet to be seen. I asked about dividends, and he said not for a while yet. We have been promised EBITDA breakeven before the end of the last fin year, then in the first quarter of this financial year, and now next year! I think it is a carrot that is forever out of reach

Financial Results (page 14 annual report)
first 6/12 of fin year loss = $5.1m
second 6/12 of fin year loss = $4.8m
(then there are tax benefits added to these)


** comment - despite increasing subscriber numbers from 5800 to 18000, then 18000 to 39000, there is minimal improvement in the financial results. This is exactly the situation that Vonage in the USA has seen. They now have some 2m subscribers and are still unprofitable. With Vonage, if you exclude the marketing spend, they are still unprofitable. With engin if you exclude the marketing spend the financial loss is $2.2 m less for the year... ie like vonage (even excluding marketing) then they are still unprofitable.


Other VOIP providers
look at MNF - unprofitable
look at Broap - just purchased by MNF
FRE (a wholesaler) - progressively increasing losses
Vonage - as above

** comment - I am not sure that VOIP is a profitable enterprise, well at least world wide it has not been shown to be profitable

Call costs
I use the engin phone, sometimes it is good and other times it is poor quality. I put up with it because to my friends it is free, but is does break up etc. I certainly have reduced the phone bill now down to $17 - $20 per month (of which it is $9.95 per month signup fee). I am paying much less per phone bill, which is good for me. According to the surveys, people are saving on average some 75% on their phone bills. Now broadly speaking, this reduction in costs is coming from margin of the phone company. I think perhaps the call costs are priced too low to be profitable. I note the average subscriber income is $30 per line, I note Vonage USA average income is $27US (ie $36 australian).

** comment - I am not sure that this level of cost of phone call is ever profitable



total of directors remuneration = $1,691,969 for 2006, plus now a request from the directors to approve an increase of director remuneration by $250,000 for next year (for the non exec directors) and who knows what for the executive directors

**** comment - seems a little much for a company that is still making a loss of $10m per year. Although the comany is making a loss, the directors are being paid very well indeed

directors options ... issue of some 6m options, the exercise price of these options are 0c, and there is facility present for a retiring director to claim these options early (read the current report). Note, also the quoted number of securities held my Mr Tales on page 75 of the annual report was 3.585901m, as per the share register 20 sep 2006 it was 1.5m. I am not sure if he owns shares in various names etc and hence things do not appear on the share registry but it would appear as though he has sold some 2m shares between 30/6 and 20/9. I thought that changes in directors holdings had to be notified so I am not sure if this is true.

**** comment - what kind of performance target is an option price of 0c, it does not encourage anything

Value of Seven Association

**** comment - personally I can not see exactly why there is so much value in the association with the seven network. The release called at a "watershed" and a "landmark change". Why? I do believe that engin has arranged to spend some $2.75m with seven in advertising per year (I think this was the figure from a report). I guess for $26m, seven has secured a 10.5% return of increased advertising for their $26m (ie $2.75m/$26m), but they have put their $26m at risk. I think the value of the seven association lies in the fact that $26m gives financial security for Engin for at least the next 2 yrs without the need to further capital raise

Value of Shares
the price peaked at about 50c a few months ago... for 230m shares ie value of the company was $115m. I think we would all agree that this was over valued! If nothing had changed then $26m more capital and 119m more shares ie value per share is $141/349 = 40c per share. Which, as above we would all agree is over priced.
For a different share price (see below)
share price post dilution price
50c 40.4c (as above)
40c 33.8c
30c 27.2c
24c 23.2c (the price was closest to here)
22c 22c (as expected because of neutral dilution)


Earnings model of expected share Value

the company is making losses so we can not predict
but consider to have a return of 1c per share in profit, this half year was $4.8m loss, ie at $30 per sub line, just to make the EBITDA neutral, the company needs a further 26666 subscribers ($4.8m / 30 / 6). To make 1c per share ie $3.49m (per six months) they need another 19388 subscribers, ie they need another 46000 subscribers . This calculation assumes no increased costs of managing the new subscribers and no cost of acquiring new subscribers. Add this to the average of 28500 lines for the 6 months of this calender year would make 74500 lines to make 1 c profit for the 6 months (ie 2 c per year). On a PE of 20 (very generous) this makes, 40c per share, more realistic PE would be 15, ie 30 c per share. This is an ideal situation, where there is no acquisition costs and no ongoing management costs. The company quotes marketing costs of $85 per new subscriber, hence to get those further 46000 new subs would cost $3.91m (some 11000 subs for that financial year), plus costs associated with managing the subscribers, plus management costs plus plus plus

One thing that took me a long time to grasp, was that the more subscribers DOES NOT MEAN more profit, as is demonstrated this financial year reports.

Reason behind money raising!
I think the company was running very short of cash, and they had to raise equity soon. This is why the company made such a deal with Seven. This is contrary to prior releases that the company expects to have enough case to progress to breakeven.



In any case.....

make up your own mind!!!

I do not think the underlying company is worth much, but make your own decision, perhaps 15-20c as a speculative buy
why don't you call Paul Jeronimo and discuss this posting with him (((Paul Jeronimo (Company Secretary) on 02 9004 4178))).

I think perhaps the company directors should be asked to make a statement about whether the company will ever be profitable (in their opinion) and quote figures to back up their assessment. They should at least be asked to give clear estimates as to how many subscribers would be necessary to make breakeven! This should be requested and provided prior to the arrangement with the Seven Network going ahead.


ij

ps: for the record, I have never been an employee of engin in any way, I do have an engin phone (and like it) and I was a shareholder of Eng until recently.
 
Very informative report, I think one of the reasons that more subscribers doesn't
mean more profit is that we don't know how many they are losing
each month. Their marketing expenditure has to forever increase just to
grow their subscriber base because they are losing to many people.
(They never seem to mention these figures in their report)
For any business to grow not only do you have to get new customers but
you have to keep your old ones.
Unwired is exactly the same, they are spending heaps on marketing yet
their customer base only grows a little, sooner or later the rate that they are
losing their subscribers by becomes too high and the company goes under.
 
assuming that were the case, why would seven be buying into them? they would have had full disclosure of what was going on, and i can't see them making such a massive blunder..
 
wastedgnome said:
assuming that were the case, why would seven be buying into them? they would have had full disclosure of what was going on, and i can't see them making such a massive blunder..

Good point, but then again Seven only paid an average of 22 cents a share
and maybe they didn"t want anybody else to have them or it is just a bad
investment, even the big boys make mistakes.
 
why would anyone buy into anything?

why did google buy out YouTube a small video sharing company that was running operating costs of between 900 000 and 1.5 million per month. BECAUSE they saw something that they didnt want another company to pick up. it didnt matter that they had never turned a profit in the past or foreseeable future without plastering advertising all over the site.

maybe seven has seen ENG as emerging leader in the field and wanted a piece of the pie before someone else got some. has ENG even broke even yet? i got into this company at start of the year at 17 cents sold out at 42 cents. after i got out sp has taken a beating and is still very low of its yearly highs.

i think at the beginning of the year everyone thought this would be the great new technology and then mid year everyone realised it was very hard to become profitable in an overcrowded industry whilst running very small margins. i would like to see a subscriber base of 200 000 plus before getting back into this one.

IMO people started to convert and didnt like it and are now leaving the company in droves, thats the big question how many people are they losing each month??
 
ijudge said:
-46000 at 29 September 2006
this means that in the 66 days from 25th July 2006 til 29th September 2006 there was 3000 lines added (only). ie 45 lines per day, ie 1363 per month!!! This is a very significantly less amount than the 4000 - 5000 per month

** comment - I rang Paul Jeronimo to ask if these figures for the 29th of Sep were correct, he confirmed that they were correct, and explained the problem was a "seasonal" problem, and that with further marketing spend the numbers would pick up again.

Excellent post ijudge.

My spin on this is that I'm not all that surprised with the subscriber numbers.

As a customer, and frequent observer on Whirlpool, an Australia Broadband/VoIP forum where customers can let of steam, you will know Engin went though a patchy period a couple of months ago (late July +) in terms of voice quality. At one stage I was logging latency of my ATA (phone) registering with engin's servers. For a couple of weeks, routine as clockwork come 8:30am (Adelaide time) latency would increase and would resume early night, a simple and crude reflection of load.

I would of expected customer churn at that time to be high, hence offsetting the subscriber growth. I had also read that Engin had toned down advertising during this period, which may have slowed sign ups.

My take on all of this is engin was having trouble keeping up with growth rates. It's one thing to sign up customers, but it might not be apparent but you need to keep network capacity abreast of this. With subscriber line growth rates last year of 573% this is not an easy task. Not only must you continuely add extra servers, networks etc, this infrastructure also costs money which also adds to the break even time and need for capital raising. With IT, infrastructure is often not seen or thought off. However imagine if you were a car manufacturer and you had growth of 573% in one year. That's a lot of factory, equipment, machines you must build and install to keep abreast. Do you expect to pay this off in the first year? Do you expect to design, build it and get this plant on-line immediately?

So the question is should engin close their doors to new customers, so they don't need to continuously install new equipment and have a chance to break even in line with forecasts? Or do you try to take most from this growth industry and continuously expand while demand for the service exists? The larger you get, the cheaper you can buy wholesale minutes, the less support staff you need per subscriber etc etc. Costs should come down.

Engin announced earlier in the year, it would fund raise for more capital to expand their network. I think they were talking about something like 250,000 subscriber lines. They are running about 50,000 in round figures now.

Now the capital has been raised, and hopefully extra infrastructure has been installed, engin with the Seven Network and Yahoo7 partners is in a wonderful position to start opening up the floodgates again with marketing and without the risk they might oversubscribe the network and provide an inferior service.

As an engin subscriber, I know the last two months voice quality has been excellent. It would appear engin is over these dramas or 'seasonal' problems. . At this moment I'm not all that worried. I'm looking to the future.
 
I have a friend whose workplace - a large building supply store - has installed and uses Engin. He is on the phone all day at work, selling stuff to builders, etc, and he says that the service runs - quote - 'perfectly!' and he has no complaints.
 
People

Realistically the Engin service is fairly good quality, but not as good as a normal phone.... it does drop out occasionally, it does get broken voice at times


but


you put up with this because the phone calls are cheap (well at least long distance is cheap)

the discussion here is not really about the call quality, the discussion is about if the company will ever make a profit?????


Why do people invest in things? --- because they think it will be worth more down the track...... The big boys do make mistakes (Alan Bond $1.2b for Nine Network for example)

When I first looked at this company, I thought it was great, and would make a fortune, but it just has not done that!!!!! It does not look like making any money any time soon (if at all)


Just consider, av subscriber income is $30 per line
Av cost to manage line = $16
ie $14 profit per line per month
(this excludes marketing costs, and other costs etc)

from here in order to increase the income by $5m per 6 months (to reach breakeven), there needs to be another 59000 subscribers (ie 110,000 total) (calculation = $5m/14/6). With 110,000 subscribers there would be more costs to manage


any how,

make your own decision about the company

I have!


ij
 
Thanks for that information. What do you think about Ch.7 getting on board for app$26 million?
I am just curious, not trying to cause trouble,as I do not own any shares in this company.
Thanks,
Peter
 
wrt to SEVEN

good and bad


BAD

their buy in price was below market value
with ch 7 owning 33%, the company is now not a take over target
there is an arrangement to purchase $2.75m of advertising from 7
i can not see that an association is really worth that much
extra cost of management team....


GOOD
the company will get $26m to use, and hence will not be bankrupt for at least 2 years
purely cash will give bottom line a boost by $2m (from interest alone)




ij
 
I was kinda hopeful for this company, it will be interesting to see if marketing from Seven is all they need.

m.
 
I dont see too much future in this one if a partnership with Channel 7 cannot boost the price. FRE has gone up a lot in the same time frame based on the future of deals they are negotiating.

The rumours about the guy(s) who run the place is arrogance - this pays off with some people but others just dont like it.
 
director selling 2m of his indirectly held shares (via Haley BV)

if this company is really going to be the NEXT BIG THING

why would you sell it???????



see the announcements



ij
 
Give the new directors the time to implement their new strategy and let's see how it goes in the next 6 months.
 
ijudge said:
if this company is really going to be the NEXT BIG THING

why would you sell it???????

Risk Management, Diversification. You have to shake you head at some of these directors. They hold most of their wealth in a few companies. I don't see anything wrong with selling. I'm still very bullish on this stock, but will admit I sold down some of my holdings a couple of weeks ago. Not so much because of engin but just incase the markets go sour . . I'm reducing my explosure to the market. And engin is not the only company I have sold down recently.


On an additional note, it appears Wild IT has joined the long list of engin resellers. Timothy Bolot, Managing Director of Wild was saying only tomorning they are signing up 634 subscribers a week to VoIP. This supprised me for what I though was a smallish ISP.
 
It appears that ENG is starting to advertise on 7 network as I just sought a prime time ad. Should boost the number of customers :)
 
I certainly hope so. I'm starting to get a little disheartened with eng.
I still hold. Thought the SEV deal would boost them more than it did.

Also can't understand FRE doing so much better than them?? Time will tell I guess. I still think they're worth holding.
 
Just a quick note


cash at end of financial year = $2.976m
cash raised from seven network = $26.282m
net = $29.258 (ie end of year plus seven network)


Recent Announcement current cash at 20 Nov 2006 = $25m

this means in the 4 months 20 days LOSS = $4.258m


covert this to 6 months = $5.4m LOSS for this 6 months

really pretty much the same as previously

MORE SUBSCRIBERS DOES NOT MEAN MORE PROFIT



think carefully about this one


ij
 
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