Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Opening up short sell account with Commsec

Reactions
Hi there,

I am new to short selling. I opened up a short sell in account with comsec, and wanted to place an order. But it says you dont have enough collateral to place an order. Can someone please explain this to me as I do have sufficient cash in my CDIA account.

Many Thanks,

Michael

If you spoke directly to your broker they would explain the situation.

Here is the commsec number : Phone:13 15 19 (within Australia: 8am to 8pm, AEST, Mon to Fri)

Dialing Commsec's customer service number is a real test of your patience, be prepared :)

I called them very recently and there was the usual button press then a less than 2 minute wait. I would not call at 10.00 a.m. as this time would be busy.

I called them very recently and there was the usual button press then a less than 2 minute wait. I would not call at 10.00 a.m. as this time would be busy.

+1 on this. If it's after 10:30 on a normal trading day, I've never had to wait more than 5 mins.

I've had to wait 3 hours on one of the crazy margin call days in January 2008 though. I wasn't margin called, but I placed an "at market" order, which Comsec actually take to mean the best price when you click the go button - but if by the time it actually gets placed, the market has moved, the order isn't updated. (e.g Placed an at market sell order at $10.00, but in the few seconds that it took to be processed, it's $9.50. Your order remains "at market", with a ask of $10.00, and can't be changed or cancelled. I try not to use the at market feature now, instead putting at limit orders a few cents above/below the last quote. Even though that's slower, if it's wrong, I can adjust my order).

Edit: Oh yeah, did you just close off another short the same day by the way? I've had that happen too, where collateral used for recent trades are unavailable, even though your position was closed out.