Australian (ASX) Stock Market Forum

Intro and question

Reactions
Hi Everyone!

i will rip the band-aid off and say that i am completely new to trading!

I have recently started my trading journey with youtube videos and setting up a paper trading account with Interactive Brokers.

I am really confused with all the different selections when it comes to buy or selling a stock. Does anyone know of somewhere on youtube that explains the different selections (options) when buying or selling? for example order types, time-in-force, outside rth etc?

Appreciate your support and patience
Sam

welcome to ASF ,

now while this is an Australian based forum , some members reside outside Australia , so if you are not an Australian resident OR intending to trade international stocks ( and other stuff ) you might make that clear so the other members can be more helpful

while this is a US site ( in the link below ) many concepts also apply ( with variations ) to Australian and New Zealand trading and investing

education , knowledge , and a good reliable calculator ( to double-check your figures ) will keep you in the game longer

and it is a rough and tough game for sure ( lots of reading , lots of research , learning to read charts ( even if just glancing at them briefly )

AND THE MOST IMPORTANT PART developing a style and strategy that works for YOU ( because it is YOUR money at risk )

and the other important part is where do you want to go in this adventure , short term , long term , set yourself up for an income for the rest of your life , or the hectic game of making enough to pay your bills ( once you have the experience and skills

cheers

there is also a thread here

thanks divs4ever

i´m definitely an Aussie and live in Qld. looking to trade Internationally with short term trades, with the goal to setup for extra income